Department of Economics

Links and Functions
Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation


Ludger Woessmann Awarded the Gustav Stolper Prize

At the annual conference of the Verein für Socialpolitik to be held in Vienna, Ludger Woessmann, head of the ifo Center for the Economics of Education and Professor at the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich, was awarded the Gustav Stolper Prize for 2017.


The Verein für Socialpolitik acknowledged Ludger Woessmann for making his scholarly contributions to the economics of education accessible in exemplary fashion to a broader public. He was one of the first German economists to devote himself to international comparative analyses of educational systems, focusing particularly on the equality of educational opportunity and the economic effects of education. He also actively participated in the public debate on educational issues, and his scientific work has been regularly taken up by the public media. In expressing his gratitude, Woessmann emphasised: "As economists, we have an exciting and important role to play in society that we must have the courage to take on."

The Verein für Socialpolitik is the academic association of German-speaking economics and social scientists and honours outstanding members with the Gustav Stolper Prize for influencing the public discussion using findings from economic research and for making important contributions for understanding and for solving economic problems. During the time of the Weimar Republic, the Austrian economist Gustav Stolper had a strong economic influence in Berlin and, among other things, founded the magazine "Der Volkswirt", which later became the "Wirtschaftswoche". After emigrating to the US, he expanded his international reputation. The Gustav Stolper Prize winner is chosen directly by the ca. 4000 members of the Verein für Socialpolitik from a shortlist of five candidates. The award is given once a year at the association's annual meeting. Christoph Schmidt, Carl Christian von Weizsäcker, Clemens Fuest, Ernst Fehr, Martin Hellwig and Hans-Werner Sinn are among the previous prize-winners.